October 1954

like father, like son

I found this in among my late dad’s stuff. it is a copy of The Writer (the leading monthly for the journalist and author). It is dated October 1954 and is in pretty good nick. It has features by Beverley Nichols, Violet Needham, Vivian Stuart, Winifred D Brown and Herbert Stonely (whoever they were) and the special feature is Get Paid Twice For the Same Job . I’ll be reading that.

It’ll be interesting to go back into a writer’s world where the Internet didn’t exist.

About Joe Young

Supposed writer from the north-east coast of England.
This entry was posted in General Interest. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October 1954

  1. ckandrew says:

    Violet Needham, children’s author, wrote one of my very early favourites ‘The Black Riders’ which I would read again if I could find it. At age 10 I really ‘lived’ that book. Maybe you could offer your magazines for sale on E-Bay, they might just make your fortune if your Blog does not!

  2. Joe Young says:

    Thanks C. If I ever see a copy of that book I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

