Book Cull

tomes with no homes

I’ve finally taken my huge old bookcase to the tip and downsized with something far nicer. This left me with over 100 books to get rid of, mainly hardbacks. I don’t have much room in this flat and under my bed is already loaded with boxes of, guess what, books. I’ve taken two bagfuls to the book skip nearby but that’s now full.

spines that are fine

It wasn’t too difficult to select the ones for the tip – a lot of the books were 25p jobs from the local library book sale. I don’t think I would ever have got round to reading Vanity Fair, or The Dreyfus Affair, or a biography of  Trollope, so they all went the hoy. There are some novels in there too- Adrian Mole and Cancer Ward are two.

I have to confess that when I put my new shelves up, some of the books that survived the cull were chosen solely because of the condition of their spines. This meant that while Ricky Tomlinson’s Celebrities, My Arse survives, that literary heavyweight War & Peace goes the journey. I’m hanging onto some books, despite their poor condition, because I like them. The Loneliness of the Long-distance Runner is a bit shabby but I will be reading it again at some point.

Of course, in the not too distant future there will undoubtedly come a time when I will be searching for something to read

About Joe Young

Supposed writer from the north-east coast of England.
This entry was posted in General Interest. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Cull

  1. mystery shopper says:

    Now, this really does surprise me as I thought all those books were a permanent fixture. 🙂

    Bet him upstairs was surprised too – with all the clunking and banging noises moving those books, and that bookcase, must have made. 🙂

  2. Joe Young says:

    There’s loads more space in the bedroom now 😀

    I don’t know if him upstairs was surprised or not – but I suspect that her downstairs would have been pretty irritated when I was putting my new shelves together – I must have dropped the Allen key onto the laminate floor a thousand times .

    It’s my way of letting them know I’m alive 😛

  3. Why is it so hard to discard books? I have the same trouble. I keep them thinking I’ll reread them but never do.

    Maybe we should be more creative in our use of old books. Just think of all those Harry Potter and Dan Brown books – enough to plug the odd volcano or fissure in the Earth’s crust. It’s a thought.

    • Joe Young says:

      Some were easy to discard but many languished in Purgatory before getting a thumbs up or thumbs down. I was determined to have a life laundry.

      When the book skips are emptied, I believe the contents are sorted into those that are saleable, which end up in charity shops, and those that are not – these are recycled into fissure-lit.

Leave a Reply

